Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:33 a.m. - 2006-04-24
a-mused

Ah boredom, that rare luxury, how I have learned to treasure thee of late. I cant remember the last time I was able to relax enough to become bored, and it is in honor of tonight�s re-acquaintance with idleness that I celebrate by posting my (seemingly) monthly diary entry.

This is not, of course, the bad kind of boredom: that of the worker, the underwhelmed, the underemployed and the uninspired. This is a more youthful and pure form of boredom, born of free time and nothing immediately pressing.

I begin to suspect , even being an artist myself, that it is boredom at least as much as love or awe or suffering, that is the muse and originator of creativity. That it�s as much the understimulated mind inventing ways of amusing itself as the overstimulated mind seeking to understand, and that this is not a bad thing.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!